Pig roasts…on an island

This past Monday, around ten o’clock in the morning, we were all in class and I was teaching my kids when suddenly, there was this horrible squeal that came from next door. And then a few more. I knew immediately it was a pig. Have you ever heard a pig squeal? It’s really strange. Anyway, I went out to the front porch to see what was going on.  Mrs. Keena, my teacher’s aid, said they were getting ready to kill it right there and cook it. I think my brain tilted. I smiled, covered my ears and told her to tell me when they were done. In few moments she said, okay, they spilt it down the belly, its finished. Some of my kids were holding their ears and some were laughing at their teacher:) I thought, is that the little piggy I saw with her piglet meandering in the bushes that Saturday morning? I had to quickly forget it – Okay class back to English! It wasn’t long before we started smelling the pig roasting over the fire. That night the party went into the wee hours of the night. I find it all so amusing. I mean, when was the last time I was out on my front porch in Lexington and someone next door splits a pig open and starts cooking it right there? As odd as some things are here, I find the change…oddly refreshing.

Leave a Reply

