God’s Show and Tell

I often bring models or diagrams to illustrate what I am teaching.  It’s like a little show and tell session to help the kids learn and have fun doing it.  Today, I was getting ready to teach from Genesis 1:27 ‘God created man in His own image, in the image of God’.  We were going to learn that we are created in the image of God and that each one of us is special.  But the Spirit led me to start at the very beginning.  Genesis 1:1 In the beginning God made the heavens and the Earth.  So I went with it.  We got into the sun being a star, the Earth revolving around the sun which makes the seasons and the earth turning on its axis creating night and day.  God is so awesome!  I tried to find a globe for show and tell but there wasn’t one readily available.  So I drew a humble little diagram on the board to give them an idea.

About the time we got to God making the sky and forming the land out of the waters, Mrs. Kina motioned and said a really big fish was outside!  So we all went to see what was going on.  It was a huge, 700lb swordfish! It was probably 7 feet long.  The kids were so excited to see it up close.  We took some pictures and I asked the men how they caught it.  They said with a pole…praise God…you should have seen their boat!  I think the swordfish was longer than their fishing boat!  Lol!  I touched the tip of the fish’s nose/spear (or whatever you call it) and it felt like a wooden leg on a table.  It was visibly worn and chipped on the end.  Along the sides of the mouth was an area on the surface lined with white pads that felt like sandpaper or a cat’s tongue.  I guess that was its teeth.  I didn’t press to hard just in case:)   It was a fun time.

Swordfish

We all reconvened in the room and I began reading again.  Then we hit on Gen 1:21

‘So God created the great creatures of the sea and every living and moving thing with which the water teems, according to their kinds, and every winged bird according to its kind. And God saw that it was good.’

And the Lord quickened my spirit: God just gave us a live show and tell!

God’s timing is impeccable.  I couldn’t even find a plastic man-made globe for my diagram.  Surely there is no Teacher like Him.  Hallelujah!  And when you own the world and everything in it, and You want to teach Your babies about the awesome things You created in the sea, then You can pull a swordfish out whenever You want to!  That just fires me up!  The fishermen had no idea their catch was going to be part of Science class at Ebeye Gem School today.  Glory to God forever more.

Leave a Reply

