A Huge Month

It’s only Wednesday and already I’ve been to the dentist seventeen times this week, had over 17 fillings and 4 teeth pulled…well, maybe not directly but when you have as many children as I do, it sure feels like it!  There are three dentists that have come in to the Medical Center on Ebeye and the Third grade classes on the island were selected to get free dental care. Hallelujah!!!! We took half the class on Monday and the other half on Tuesday. I had the big job of hugging, wiping away tears, smiling, comforting, praising and praying (a lot) as we spent four hours each afternoon getting everyone’s teeth in tip-top shape! Praise God for these doctors who have decided to devote their time and personal funds to come to countries like the Marshall Islands and help the people.

And these kids are so awesome! I think about myself and how I’d be non-to-happy if I had to see another dentist than the one I’ve had since childhood. But these kids open up and trust strangers with big needles and loud drills – Holy Ghost troopers for sure! At the end of the day on Tuesday, our group was the last to go and Dr. Norma said, “You’re kids have been the best we’ve had. They are so well-mannered with no drama.” All the other dentists looked up with their masks and head lamps still shining and shook their heads in agreement. I was filled with joy for all my little kids! What an awesome compliment towards them. Baili and I thanked her for the compliment and I inwardly thanked God because I knew He had a lot to do with the peace my kids have.

So much has happened over the past month that I’ve barely been able to keep up. I already wrote to you about our informative and rare trip to the Kwajalein Elementary School. Then, Trecie had two incredible ideas she’s been working on that we initiated at the end of January: the Homework Club for the kids and the Parent Workshop. The Homework Club is now in operation and we open the school every Mon., Tues., and Thurs. for the kids to come and do their homework in a clean, quiet environment where there are teachers to help them. It’s open for an hour and fifteen minutes (which may change depending on demand). Most of the kids do their homework on the floor at home with sisters and brothers running around, people walking over them, constant noise and distractions. This should help them be more organized and productive about their work.

The Parent Workshop was for parents who wanted to learn more about being involved in their child’s education. Trecie did an awesome job organizing this with hand-outs, power-point display and so many good ideas. The parents loved it and got so many good things out of it. The Holy Spirit is really birthing some major ideas and talents through that woman of God. I’m honored to be working with Trecie, her husband Nyasha and their little girl Trinity. (Trinity is one powerful missionary). Amen!

The Gem Library opened this past Monday and we’ve had our first books checked out with many more to come. What an exciting time to be here, watching God move in the classroom and out, watching this school grow along with the people, being a part of this island’s life. I’m thankful to God that He has brought me here for a season to grow and contribute what I can.

Leave a Reply

